The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Review. (1 Bach D)

9781862303492Marta Roquero wrote her opinion about The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

“I really liked the book because although it is a sad story with a shocking ending it makes you realize how the Second World War was and that a lot of people died due to Germans. This is the second time I read it but I really enjoyed it the first time so I wanted to read it again. I am also a big fan of the main character, Bruno, because it is very funny the way he thinks and how he faces life.

I would strongly recommend this book with people who at least know a little bit about this time in history when all this happened so they can understand it better, but everyone should read it at some stage in their lives.”

Esta entrada fue publicada en Bachillerato. Guarda el enlace permanente.

2 respuestas a The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Review. (1 Bach D)

  1. Nerea Sarmiento wrote:
    I really liked this book, it’s very different from the ones I usually read. The book was narrated in third person but it only told what the boy thought and what he understood so it was easy for me to comprehend the mind of Bruno and the whole story.
    I also liked the plot and the fluid way in which it was counted, the story goes a little bit fast and that makes the book not boring. The plot tells some hard facts of the history of the world, in particular the barbarities of the World War II, but the author of this novel softens the story telling it from the perspective of a young boy who doesn’t understand what happens around him and who doesn’t know the truth.
    The only thing I didn’t like is the end of the book, I think the story didn’t have to end like this, I expected a better ending in which Shmuel could have escaped through the fence and run away, the two innocent boys shouldn’t have died.
    However, I think this is a very good book that will make you spend a great time reading it, and I recommend it to everyone who loves reading, they won’t be able to put it down and they will love this novel like I do, but I think that first they should know something about the moment where the story takes place.

  2. PAULA SÁNCHEZ wrote:
    In my opinion “The boy in the striped pyjamas” is a good book and the plot is very intriguing. I felt really interested in the story from the very first moment because the way it is narrated made me read it carefully to work out what was happening. For example when Bruno talked about the place called “Out-With” or about “The Fury”, at first I didn’t know what THOSE things were and so I wanted to continue reading to understand the story.
    The characters are also good. Some of them are not really described, and even though they are important for the plot the book doesn’t talk about their personalities much (for example Bruno’s father). But I found it really interesting, because this way the reader can create a version of the character based on facts.
    This book talks about the Holocaust, and therefore the story is very sad; but in spite of this I really liked it because it shows how innocent children are able to break any rule to defend fairness, friendship and kindness. The ending is devastating and abrupt, but I think it is a wonderful way to express just how senseless wars are.

    I would recommend this book to anyone interested IN the II World War, but I wouldn’t recommend it to children because in my opinion they would find hard to understand some things and because it is a very very sad story.

Responder

